The model I’m most looking forward to is the Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition, which has an auto-adjusting light sensor, 32 GB of storage, and wireless charging for the first time. This model comes with a larger 6.8-inch E-Ink display that’s brighter and has an adjustable color temperature, USB-C charging, a faster processor, and weeks more in battery life.

Big Screen Benefits 

It’s safe to say that I’m obsessed with e-readers. I owned the Rocket eBook, one of the first e-readers, back in 1999. It was a surprisingly capable reader for its day, but the screen was hard on the eyes. Since then, I’ve owned nearly every model of Kindle.  I’m currently using the lowest-end Kindle model, which I prefer to the more expensive Kindle Oasis. The charm of the lowest-end Kindle owes much to the fact that it’s much more comfortable to use than the more expensive Kindle Oasis. The Oasis has a slippery metal frame that is hard to hold.  The new Kindle Paperwhite brings some of the best features of the Oasis lineup and melds them with the comfortable frame of the cheaper Kindles. The warm glow feature of the new Paperwhite is straight out of the Oasis playbook.  Another upgrade to the Paperwhite is the screen size. The 6.8-inch screen on the new Kindle Paperwhite doesn’t seem like much of a step up from the 6 inches on the previous model, but I know from using many different Kindles that every little bit of display size helps when it comes to paging through text. The 6.8-inch screen of the Paperwhite is nearly the same size as the one on the pricier Kindle Oasis.  The new screen also has 10% more brightness at the highest setting than the previous Kindle. I tend to use my Kindle while reading inside, but the increased brightness could come in handy when reading in direct sunlight. 

Speed Demon

Improved battery life and charging are also things I’m looking forward to on the new Paperwhite model. While the battery on my current Kindle can be measured in weeks, I do occasionally find that the battery is low just as I’m plunging through a novel.  Thankfully, the Paperwhite now uses USB-C, which means that I’ll have one less adapter to worry about as I already use several gadgets that use this cable. To help maximize reading time, fast USB-C charging takes only 2.5 hours to reach a full charge time when using a 9W adapter or larger.  Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition is the first Kindle to offer wireless charging and can be used with any compatible Qi wireless charger. I’m not sold on wireless charging for my iPhone, as I prefer the faster charging capabilities of a regular charger. But wireless charging seems like the perfect addition to a Kindle because I keep it handy on a nightstand and don’t use it for long periods.  The Paperwhite Signature edition costs $189.99. For a premium reading experience, it seems like a bargain. I can’t wait to try it out.