With its incredibly slim design, I plan to use the iMac as a gigantic laptop. After all, at only 10 pounds, it weighs about the same as some gaming laptops. And, since, like many people, I’m working from home these days, I don’t need to tote a real portable very often. 

You Can’t Have Too Much Screen

I am a multitasking fiend, often running six programs at once along with dozens of tabs as I switch between emails, messaging, and researching and writing stories. It’s not so much a strain on the processor, because I find that most modern computers can handle the load. But it’s great to know that the new iMac features Apple’s latest processor, which has been getting rave reviews for its speed. Even if I don’t need that power now, future operating system updates might make the boost necessary.  My biggest challenge is having enough screen space to process all the information I need to view. Despite that, I haven’t bought a desktop computer in nearly 20 years because I love the portability of laptops. My current daily driver is a MacBook Pro, and it’s been a rock-solid companion. But the relatively small screen just isn’t cutting it anymore for my aging, strained eyes.  The natural move would be to hook up my MacBook to a ginormous monitor. But I don’t have a lot of room in my compact New York City apartment, and I needed something that looked relatively tidy.  The new iMac seems like the perfect solution with its vanishingly thin design. Despite its 24-inch screen, the iMac is only 21.5 inches wide and 18.1 inches tall. With its 0.61-inch thickness, it looks more like a gigantic iPad than a fully fledged desktop computer.  The screen of the M1 iMac is getting overlooked because of excitement around the blazingly fast processor, but it’s the part I’m most excited about. The size has been boosted from a 21.5-inch panel in the previous model to 24 inches. Apple also increased the 4K resolution from the 2019 Intel Retina iMac to a 4.5K resolution at 4480 x 2520 in the M1 model.  Also, the bezels are much slimmer, but Apple kept the chin and did away with the logo on the front for a cleaner design. 

Fits Right In

I also expect the new iMac to fit right into my tiny home with its redesigned and more elegant look. Apple now offers a choice of colors on its desktop in a move that’s a reminder of the candy hues of the first iMac G3.  The blue color sorely tempted me, but I decided that the plain old silver would blend in best with any decor after dithering. After all, I’m expecting to have this computer for a long time. I still own my beautiful 2001 vintage iMac G4 with its revolutionary swiveling screen, and it runs fine, although it’s slow.  The new iMac design is more than just about looks. I’m hoping that not only will it be a better look in my home than a bulky desktop, but that it will be portable, as well. One exciting change with the iMac is its magnetic power cord and power adapter. For the first time, the new iMac features an external power supply brick similar to the MacBook Air and MacBook Pro. It’s on this power brick where Apple puts the Ethernet connection. The new power supply and the unit’s feather weight should make the iMac easy to move around. I plan to transport it from bedroom to desk to couch, as the occasion demands.