Facebook, the makers of the Oculus Quest 2, recently released a feature that allows you to see the K830 while you are in VR. This ability makes an incredible difference in using the keyboard, and suddenly it means that actual work in VR is possible. My pulse rose when I first saw my hands floating like ghosts above the virtual K830 keyboard. The sudden merging of physical objects and the virtual world was stunning with its promise.  That’s not to say the K830 or the whole virtual typing experience is perfect. This compact keyboard isn’t the right choice for hardcore touch typists who spend hours a day pounding on the keys. In fact, the software update is labelled as an experimental feature, and it shows. 

Sleek Looks 

The K830 is a distinct looking keyboard with a flat design and an integrated trackpad. It was initially marketed as an accessory for a smart TV, and it’s easy to see why. The illuminated keyboard is handy for use in dim rooms. It’s meant to be compact, and it’s a sleek object to keep around your living room. However, the actual typing experience isn’t the best. The keys of the K830 are on the shallow side, and even though I’m a competent touch typist, I found myself at first fumbling on the wrong letters. The trackpad, meanwhile, is usable but small, making it hard to navigate through long documents. Setting up the K830 is easy enough, however, though not quite as simple as other Bluetooth devices. First, you’ll have to make sure you have Oculus Quest OS V28, which is rolling out to headsets now. Then, go to the Experimental Features section and select the Bluetooth pairing option, as well as the pairing button to connect the keyboard. You also have to make sure hand tracking is turned on in general settings. I completed those steps and selected the track keyboard setting in Experimental Features to adjust the opacity of my hands. It was handy being able to see the keyboard through my hands in virtual reality, but this feature sometimes didn’t work for me. I’m hoping it will become more reliable in future software updates. Finally, I activated the new virtual desk feature, which created a virtual surface that mimicked my real desk. The virtual desk boundary is automatically saved and detected, letting you quickly pick things up right where you left off. Between the actual keyboard and the virtual desk, I started to get fuzzy about what was real and what was virtual.

VR Becomes a Productivity Tool

Once I had the K830 set up, the real fun began. I opened the Oculus web browser and, within moments, I was typing in Google Docs on a giant virtual screen. It was amazing how quickly the Oculus had transformed from toy to tool with a simple accessory. I’ve tried using other Bluetooth keyboards before with the Oculus, but I found it extremely difficult to hit the right keys in VR. Since the K830 is displayed and tracked in the virtual world, I don’t notice much difference from my typing speed without a VR headset. Also, the buttons light up when you press them, providing additional feedback. I composed this article in VR using Google Docs and the K830, and for the most part it was a great experience. Cocooned in my virtual world, I was able to concentrate like never before.  After an hour, though, I pulled the Oculus Quest 2 off my sweaty brow. The problem wasn’t with the keyboard, but the headset, itself. The Oculus just isn’t comfortable enough for long work sessions. Hopefully, future headsets will be smaller and lighter like the rumored Apple mixed-reality gear.  At $79.99, the K830 isn’t the cheapest Bluetooth keyboard on the market. But if you want to type with the Oculus Quest 2, it’s a must-buy.